Don’t Laugh…

In a 6 month period, her grandfather had 2 massive strokes, was hospitalized for 3.5  months and ultimately passed away, her grandmother was diagnosed with stage 3 ovarian cancer, her mother was diagnosed with not one, but two primary cancers (both in her lymph nodes) and she lost her job 12 days before Christmas.

I would like to tell you that you’ve just read a plot synopsis for what is clearly the most implausible movie of 2013.  I really would, but I can’t.  I can’t because that would be a lie.  It’s not a movie; it’s my life.  Ridiculous, right?

So, what do you do when the last 6 months of your life resembles the worst movie never made?  No no, not a nervous breakdown silly.  That would be far too predictable.  You start a blog!

I’m 28 years old, I’m single and I have absolutely no idea what I want to be when I grow up.  I’m pretty sure I’m having a quarter-life crisis, but that’s okay.  I’m just doing my best to discern (and follow) the path that God has laid out for me, stumbling all the while.

Now, you’re probably asking yourself why I would decide to publicly write about the aforementioned crisis and I can’t say I blame you.  However, that’s an interesting question with a very simple answer: I’m more than a little bit crazy!

I’ll give you a moment to run away now…

*insert Jeopardy theme song here*

You’re still here?  I’ve found my people!  I thought I was the only one…We must have tea.

Honestly, I’m doing this in the hopes that my ramblings might serve to provide hope, inspiration or even just a laugh to anyone else who’s still learning to dance in the rain.

Join me, won’t you?  Or don’t.  I can always just talk to myself.

4 thoughts on “Don’t Laugh…

  1. If I can offer something back, Karina, you have fire in your writing and humour too, despite the solar plexus hits you’ve taken. Keep it going. Your God has given you a gift here, and your pain is your elixir (it tends to happen that way). Find joy in your writing; you’re good at it. Many aren’t and don’t believe; so they just have the pain.

  2. Beautiful Karina…..we all need an outlet to help us through our tough times. Very happy that you have found a constructive one to help you. Here is hoping that 2014 is a much more positive year for our family.
    Marnie xoxoxoxo

  3. When you live an interesting life, or endure situations that others may not, it is good to share. You never know with whom you might find common ground. I will be sure to read on, as you venture forward and heal yourself and others with your thoughts and words. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

